Public Land Anterless Fallow Deer Ballot


​Ballot allocations for the antlerless deer season are now available below.

Antlerless deer can be taken in all available reserves from 15 March 2020 until 15 November 2020 inclusive provided hunters have an authorisation for a nominated reserve and time within the above dates.
Due to the recent bushfires, St Pauls Regional Reserve may pose a safety hazard to hunters and will not be included in the 2020 public land deer hunting ballot.  Any affected ballot permit holders will be notified.

Ballot applications for the anterless fallow deer season have now been announced.  Please see spreadsheets below to see if you have been successful.  Permits have been emailed or posted to successful applicants.

Each available reserve has a spreadsheet with a column for each week that has been allocated for the antlerless season.  Successful ballot registration numbers are listed in the columns of each available week.  Authorisations will be sent out as soon as possible.  If you have been successful please familiarise yourself with the additional information on this website around reserve closure periods and other safety and biosecurity information.

The Ballot Coordinator will send authorities to successful hunters via email or post. 

  Buxton River Conservation Area 2020   (72Kb)

  Castle Cary antlerless allocations 2020   (71Kb)

  Central Plateau antlerless allocations 2020   (81Kb)

  Five Mile antlerless allocations 2020   (77Kb)

  Great Lake antlerless allocations 2020   (80Kb)

  Greater Western Tiers Conservation Area antlerless allocations   (82Kb)​

  Great Western Tiers Conservation Area - Parsons & Clerk Mountain   (79Kb)

  Tooms Lake antlerless allocations   (74Kb)

  Top Marshes antlerless allocations   (79Kb)

Important ballot information

  • To be considered for the ballot each hunter must individually complete the online 'Application for Authority to Hunt Fallow Deer on Public Land'.
  • The applicant may nominate to be part of a hunting party (maximum 4 members).  Hunting parties must nominate a party name, with each member of the party stating the name on the online application form.
  • The applicant will have the ability to nominate no more than 5 preferred hunting blocks, and up to 10 hunting dates (each other team member should nominate the same hunting blocks).
    Authoritisations will be issued subject to a random ballot process for each hunting period and Reserve(s) you have nominated. There ​will be no option of swapping the preferred dates or Reserve(s) you are allocated.
    This year the successful ballot Authoritisations will run from Wednesday to the following Tuesday inclusive.  Apart from week 1 of each season which will run from Saturday to Tuesday inclusive, and the final week of each season which will run from Wednesday to Sunday inclusive.
    To ensure hunter safety, all hunters on Parks and Wildlife Service (PWS) and Hydro Tasmania (HT) managed land must wear some form of hi-visibility/blaze orange clothing (i.e. hat, vest) to be more identifiable to other hunting parties.
  • Successful ballot permit holders have to adhere to the permit conditions, including the terms and conditions. 

Re​​serve Info​​rmation

During the 2020 seasons, hunting will again be authorised in the following Reserves:

  • Great Western Tiers Conservation Area
  • Top Marshes Conservation Area
  • Five Mile Pinnacles Conservation Area
  • Central Plateau Conservation Area: Brenton Rivulet block (PWS) and Mother Lord Plains block (HT)
  • Great Western Tiers Conservation Area: Parson & Clerk Mountain Block (PWS)
  • Great Lake Conservation Area: Tumbledown Creek block (PWS) and land known as Gunns Marsh surrounding Gunns Lake and Little Lake (HT)

New Res​​erves

Four new Reserves have been assessed as being suitable for hunting deer during the 2020 ballot:
  • Tooms Lake Conservation Area (closed 1 July 2020 - 28 Feb 2021 inclusive)
  • Buxton River Conservation Area (closed 1 July 2020 - 28 Feb 2021 inclusive)
  • St Pauls Regional Reserve (closed 1 July 2020 - 28 Feb 2021 inclusive).  
    Please note due to bushfire impact, St Pauls Regional Reserve is not available for the 2020 ballot.
  • Castle Cary Regional Reserve (closed 20 May - 2 June 2020, 10 June - 16 June 2020, 1 July 2020 - 29 Feb 2021 inclusive)

New Re​​serve Closures

The four new Reserves (Castle Cary, St Pauls, Buxton River, Tooms Lake) will be closed (no hunting) from 1 July 2020 – 28 Feb 2021 inclusive due to wedge tailed eagle and falcon breeding seasons.

Castle Cary will also be closed for the below inclusive dates:
  • Wednesday 20 May 2020 until Tuesday 2 June 2020
  • Wednesday 10 June until Tuesday 16 June, and
  • Wednesday 30 September 2020 until Tuesday 6 October 2020


  • The new Reserves have 'no hunting' buffer zones of 500m (see maps)
  • Limitations on access have been placed on Reserves to minimise habit disturbance during the wedge tail eagle breading season and other PWS supported activities (Orienteering Tasmania)
Detailed information and maps can be found on the Reserve Areas page.


Public Land Deer Hunting Ballot
Game Services Tasmania
GPO Box 44
Phone: (03) 6165 3070

Back Home