Public Land Deer Hunting Ballot


​Due to the recent bushfires some impacted reserves may pose a safety hazard to hunters and could potentially be closed.  Any affected ballot permit holders will be notified.

​Ballot applications are now open

Applications need to be submitted by 27 January 2020

Please apply using the online application form​.


Important ballot information

  • To be considered for the ballot each hunter must individually complete the online 'Application for Authority to Hunt Fallow deer on Public Land'.
  • The applicant may nominate to be part of a hunting party (maximum 4 members).  Hunting parties must nominate a party name, with each member of the party stating the name on the online application form.

  • The applicant will have the ability to nominate no more than 5 preferred hunting blocks, and up to 10 hunting dates (each other team member should nominate the same hunting blocks).
  • Authoritisations will be issued subject to a random ballot process for each hunting period and Reserve(s) you have nominated. There will be no option of swapping the preferred dates or Reserve(s) you are allocated.
  • This year the successful ballot Authoritisations will run from Wednesday to the following Tuesday. Apart from week 1 of each season which will run from Saturday to Tuesday, and the final week of each season which will run from Wednesday to Sunday.
  • To ensure hunter safety, all hunters on Parks and Wildlife Service (PWS) and Hydro Tasmania (HT) managed land must wear some form of hi-visibility/blaze orange clothing (i.e. hat, vest) to be more identifiable to other hunting parties.

  • Successful ballot permit holders have to adhere to the permit conditions, including the terms and conditions.


Reserve Information

During the 2020 seasons, hunting will again be authorised in the following Reserves:

    • Great Western Tiers Conservation Area
    • Top Marshes Conservation Area
    • Five Mile Pinnacles Conservation Area
    • Central Plateau Conservation Area: Brenton Rivulet block (PWS) and Mother Lord Plains block (HT)
    • Great Western Tiers Conservation Area: Parson & Clerk Mountain Block (PWS)
    • Great Lake Conservation Area: Tumbledown Creek block (PWS) and land known as Gunns Marsh surrounding Gunns Lake and Little Lake (HT)

New reserves

​Four new Reserves have been assessed as being suitable for hunting deer during the 2020 ballot:

    • Tooms Lake Conservation Area (closed 1st July - 29 Feb 2021)
    • Buxton River Conservation Area (closed 1st July - 29 Feb 2021)
    • St Pauls Regional Reserve (closed 1st July - 29 Feb 2021)
    • Castle Cary Regional Reserve (closed 20 May - 2 June, 10 June - 16 June, 1st July - 29 Feb 2021)

New Reserve Closures

The four new Reserves (Castle Cary, St. Pauls, Buxton River, Tooms lake) will be closed (no hunting) from 1st July – 29 Feb 2021 due to wedge tailed eagle and falcon breeding seasons.

Castle Cary will also be closed for the below dates:

  • Wednesday 20 May 2020 until Tuesday 2 June 2020 (inclusive)
  • Wednesday 10 June until Tuesday 16 June, and
  • Wednesday 30 September 2020 until Tuesday 6 October 2020


  • The new Reserves have 'no hunting' buffer zones of 500 m (see​ maps​)
  • Limitations on access have been placed on Reserves to minimise habit disturbance during the wedge tail eagle breading season and other PWS supported activities (Orienteering Tasmania)​

Detailed information and maps can be found on the Reserve Areas page​.

​Ballot Applicati​​​on​​ Link

Each recreational hunter wishing to enter the ballot must complete the online application​ to be considered for the 2020 ballot

​The Ballot Coordinator will send authorities to successful hunters via email prior to the season opening.

Ballot C​​​​​l​​osing Date

27 January 2020

Ballot Draw​​​ Date

28-29 January 2020


Public Land Deer Hunting Ballot
Game Services Tasmania
GPO Box 44
Phone: (03) 6165 3070

Back Home