Rural Water Roundtable

​​​​​​​​​​The Rural Water Roundtable (RWR) has been established to provide perspectives and opinions to:

  • ​Guide the development of the implementation plan for the Rural Water Use Strategy which DPIPWE must deliver by March 2022
  • Identify opportunities for improved communication, coordination, and alignment of activities and responsibilities for sustainably managing Tasmania's water resources
  • Inform communication and engagement about managing our precious water resources, lakes, and rivers

​​​​​​​​​​Terms of Reference ​

​​The terms of Reference for the RWR can be downloaded below:​

  Tasmanian Rural Water Roundtable, Terms of Reference   (117Kb)​


Members of the roundtable include representatives of organisations who manage Tasmania's water resources, water users and environmental managers. A list of members is included below: 


​Deidre Wilson (Chairperson) ​
​Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment 
​Ian Dunbabin
​Hydro Tasmania 
​Andrew Kneebone
​Tasmanian Irrigation ​
​John McKew 
​Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association
​Mike Rose
​Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture 
​Matt Derbyshire 
​Ben Morris
​Local Government Association of Tasmania 
​Rosanna Coombes
​NRM North
​Jen Fry 
​Representing Tasmanian seafood industry 
​Laura Richardson 
​Dairy Tas
​Peter Stronach 
​Landcare Tasmania 
​John Diggle ​
​Inland Fisheries Service 

Meetings and Com​muniques 

Meeting 1

The first meeting of the Rural Water Roundtable was held on Friday 20 August 2021 in Hobart. A summary of what was discussed is available in the communique:​

 Rural Water Roundtable Communique (PDF 62Kb)


Water Policy Enquiries
GPO Box 44
Hobart TAS TAS 7000
Phone: 1300 368 550

Back Home