Import Restrictions Relating to Myrtle Rust

There is a prohibition* on the import of plants, cut flowers, seed, fruit, pollen, foliage and tissue culture from all plants from the Myrtaceae family. There are around 150 genera in the Myrtaceae family with the more well-known being eucalypts, teatrees, paperbarks, willow myrtle and bottlebrush.
* Please Note: There is provision for an importer to apply for an exemption from this prohibition. The importer would have to demonstrate they have an effective risk management process in place and any such exemption would have to be specifically authorised in writing.
  • From 17 January 2011, all non-Myrtaceae nursery stock imported from the mainland into Tasmania must be treated with an approved fungicide.

See also:

Formal notice re prohibition of Myrtaceae imports - 16 July 2010 (86 KB)

Myrtle Rust Biosecurity Fact Sheet (642 KB)

Back Home