Tasmanian Meat Industry Working Group

​​​The Tasmanian Meat Industry Working Group (TMIWG) concluded its role with the submission to the Tasmanian Government in May 2019 of a number of recommendations for actions and strategies for a sustainable livestock industry.
The Working Group was established in November 2018 and comprised membership from a broad section of industry and government.

To inform their recommendations the Working Group:
  • undertook extensive industry consultation, 
  • sought feedback from stakeholders on the issues and opportunities facing the red meat industry, and
  • commissioned, through DPIPWE, a consultant (Meridian Agriculture) to complete an independent feasibility study into establishing commercially viable on island processing in Tasmania. 

The Government has accepted all findings and recommendations of the TMIWG and has released them in full along with the Feasibility Study and the Government’s response. ​

The recommendations will further inform Tasmanian Government and assist in the strategic allocation of the Government’s
$1 million commitment to initiatives to increase trade, marketing, value and sales of Tasmanian meat and underpin a sustainable meat industry in Tasmania.

The members of the Working Group were: 
  • ​Chair - Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC, the Leader of Government Business in the Legislative Council and Member for Montgomery reporting to the Minister for Primary Industries and Water
  • Tasmanian Agricultural Productivity Group representing agribusiness - Jim Wilson (and working group Deputy Chair)
  • Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association representing commercial farming -  Georgie Burbury
  • Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association and Tasmanian Red Meat Industry Council representing commercial farming - Brett Hall
  • Tasmanian Island Pork Alliance representing pig producers - Alan Broomby
  • Australian Meat Industry Council - representing retailers, processors and smallgoods manufacturers - Oliver Stankovski
  • Sprout Tasmania representing small producers - Jennifer Robinson
  • Secretary of the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment - John Whittington
  • Secretary of the Department of State Growth - Kim Evans


AgriGrowth Tasmania
171 Westbury Road, Prospect
PO Box 46
Kings Meadows TAS 7249
Phone: 1300 292 292
Email: farmpoint@dpipwe.tas.gov.au
Website: https://dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Back Home