Current Tasmanian AgriFutures Rural Women's Award Winner and Finalists

2020 Tasmanian Winner: Karen Brock  

Karen Brock

Karen Brock, from Winkleigh specialises in plant tissue culture for the food production and cut flower sectors.​
A $10,000 bursary will assist Karen in her work to reduce plant input costs as well as develop disease-resistant and climate-tolerant plants that produce higher-yielding crops. 
Karen also partners with others to teach plant tissue culture and assists with food security production systems in under-developed countries.
Karen will attend the prestigious Australian Institute of Company Directors Course and represent Tasmania at the announcement of the national winner.

Tasmanian Women in Agriculture Encouragement Award: Louise Morris  
Louise Morris, Encouragement Award

Louise Morris  

​​Researcher and producer Louise Morris, from Derby, has established Australia's first farm
focussed on producing insects for human consumption. 

​A farmer and food producer, Louise uses waste streams as the feedstock for her micro-herds.

Tasmanian Women in Agriculture Development Awards: Robyn Eversole and Celia Leverton

  Robyn Eversole

​​Robyn Eversole, from Natone, is a researcher and author ​dedicated to helping
Celia Leverton, Development Award

Celia Leverton 

people in in rural regions. Robyn's goal is to bring the global knowledge resources of universities to regional communities to empower local ​people to create the futures they want.

Celia Leverton​, from Franklin, is committed to encouraging and enabling a resilient, profitable farming industry to regenerate the land while producing food and fibre. Celia aspires to increase and maintain the uptake of regenerative farming practices now and for future generations.
Back Home