AgriFutures Rural Women's Award 2018 - Winners

Allison Clark from Richmond has been announced by the Hon Sarah Courtney MP, Minister for Primary Industries and Water, as the 2018 Rural Woman of the Year for Tasmania.  The Encouragement Award has gone to Katherine Reed from Rosevale and the Development Award has gone to Ana Pimenta from King Island.

Rural Women's Award 2018 winner Allison Clark with the Minister for Primary Industries & Water, Sarah Courtney, MP

Allison Clark (2018 Tasmanian Rural Woman of the Year)

Allison is an experienced agri-food business executive with an extensive background in leading change and innovation in product and service delivery.

Allison’s project aims to understand how farming business/ agribusiness taps into available research or networks, in addition to understanding the barriers to integrating this information into decision making processes.  These learnings can help provide better design, development and commercialisation tools in the early stages of development, to limit risk of failure.

Katherine Reed (2018 TWiA Encouragement Award)

Katherine’s project aims to bring rural women with disabilities together, allowing them to address their issues in a peer-supported, grass roots environment.

Ana Pimenta (2018 TWiA Development Award)

Ana’s project aims to develop and deliver a program that would increase the financial literacy of farming businesses on King Island.

(L to R): TWiA Encouragement Award Winner Katherine Reed, Rural Women's Award 2018 winner Allison Clark and TWiA Development Award Winner Ana Pimenta

The AgriFutures Rural Women's Award is supported nationally by Westpac, ABC Rural Radio and Fairfax Agricultural Media.  The Tasmanian Award is supported by the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment and Tasmanian Women in Agriculture.
Back Home