New Aboriginal and Dual Names

​​M​edia Release - Wednesday 31 March 2021

Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment

​A total of 15 new Aboriginal and Dual Names have been approved following recommendations received from the Place Names Advisory Panel in late December 2020 and March 2021.

Tim Baker, Secretary of the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (DPIPWE) said 18 names were submitted by proponents in accordance with the State Government’s Aboriginal and Dual Naming Policy, which was revised in 2019.

"The names have been through several stages of consultation including by the proponents, the Panel and by advertising to the general public,” Mr Baker said.

“Original names for Tasmanian places and features are being recognised as an important way of bringing back culture to country.”

The approved names are from the North West, South East and North East of the State:
  • Kaninerwidic, a new name for the inner island of The Doughboys (pronounced (Ka_nina_widic)
  • Karrernootong, a new name for the outer island of The Doughboys (pronounced Kara_nu_tong)
  • Koindrim / The Doughboys – dual name (pronounced Koin_drim)
  • Kennaook / Cape Grim – dual name (pronounced Ken_nah_ook)
  • Konewongener / Mount Horror – dual name (pronounced Kgona_wongk_una)
  • Leengtenner / Tomahawk River – dual name (pronounced Lein_g_tena)
  • Luemerrernanner / Cape Portland – dual name (pronounced Lu_ah_merer_nana)
  • Polelewawta / Little Forester River – dual name (pronounced Poh_ele_wa_u_ta)
  • Poonerluttener / Mount Cameron – dual name (pronounced Puna_lu_tena)
  • Tangumrounpeender / Waterhouse Point – dual name (pronounced Tahn_gum_rowun_peen_da)
  • Taneneryouer, a replacement name for Suicide Bay (pronounced Tarn_nena_oower)
  • Temdudheker / Woolnorth Point – dual name (Tem_u_hakar)
  • Teralina / Eaglehawk Neck – dual name (Tera_leena)
  • Turrakana / Tasman Peninsula – dual name (Turu_kunna)
  • Tebrakunna, a new name for the Cape Portland area (Teh_bpra_kg_oona)

These new names join the thirteen names approved under the first iteration of the Aboriginal and Dual Naming Policy which was released in 2012.

Mr Baker said the approved names will now be included on State mapping products and the Land Information System Tasmania, or LIST, and signage to the features will be progressively upgraded to reflect the new names.

More information is available on the Place Names Tasmania website