Water Management Regions

​Water management activities are undertaken by Regional Water Management Officers across Tasmania. Each officer is responsible for a defined region, with major offices located at New Town, Prospect, Devonport and Burnie.

Licensing adminstration and support is provided by staff located at New Town.

The Department's activities in each region includes
  • Managing flows in rivers and streams
  • Provision of information on water resource matters in regional areas
  • Compliance monitoring and enforcement

Contact a Regional Water Management Officer

Each region is supported by a Regional Water Management Officer (RWMO) who can provide advice on farm dams and water allocation issues.  The RWMOs, assisted by Water Rangers, are also responsible for ensuring compliance with licensing conditions.

To confirm who your local RWMO is, contact:
Phone: 1300 368 550
Email: Water.Operations@dpipwe.tas.gov.au






Northern Region (West)

Laura Morris
Regional Water Management Officer
Water Operations Branch, Launceston/Burnie
Phone: (03) 6777 2225
Mobile: 0447 548 085
Laura.Morris@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Northern Region (Central)
John Gaby
Regional Water Management Officer
Water Operations Branch, Prospect
Ph: (03) 6777 2235
Mobile: 0418 547 846
John.Gaby@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Northern Region (East)

Anthony Walker
Regional Water Management Officer
Water Operations Branch, Prospect
Ph: (03) 6777 2243
Mo​bile: 0428 219 828
Anthony.Walker@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

North Esk

Peter Stafford, Team Leader
Water Operations Branch, Prospect
Ph: (03) 6777 2216
Mobile: 0429 531 584
Peter.Stafford@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Eastern Region
Stephen Pryor
Regional Water Management Officer
Water Operations Branch, New Town
Ph: (03) 6165 3279
Mobile: 0419 563 952
Stephen.Pryor@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Southern Region
Andrew Dix
Regional Water Management Officer
Water Operations Branch, New Town
Ph: (03) 6165 3279
Mobile: 0417 308 608
Andrew.Dix@dpipwe.tas.gov.au



Back Home