Statutory Valuations - Revaluations and Supplementary Valuations

Statutory Valuations

The Valuer-General is required to assess statutory values of all properties in Tasmania, including Crown land that is liable for rating.  The three values assessed are Land Value, Capital Value and Assessed Annual Value.  

Generally a fresh valuation (revaluation) of a municipality is undertaken every 6 years, with supplementary valuations being undertaken during the 6 year period, whenever a major change occurs to some aspect of a property.

The values and other specific information is maintained in a Valuation Roll for each municipality.

Some key points are -

  • All properties within a municipality are valued as at the same date.  This is called the  Levels of Value Date.  This date remains constant until the next revaluation in 6 years time.  The Levels of Value date is 1 July in the year of the revaluation.
  • Notices of Valuation are issued the following May and valuations become effective for rating and taxing purposes from the 1 July following issue of the valuations ie if the Levels of Value date is 1 July 2018, the Notices of Valuation will be issued in May 2019 and the effective date for rates and taxes is 1 July 2019.
  • Owners of land can object to the issued values.   For information about objecting to a fresh valuation see the Objecting to a Statutory Valuation page.
  • The Valuer-General uses Contract Valuers to value the properties.  The quality assurance of the values and oversight of the Contract Valuers is undertaken by the Office of the Valuer-General.

In between the 6 year cycle, the Valuer-General issues Supplementary Valuations whenever a major change occurs on a property ie a new garage or room is added, the land size changes.  The key points are -

  • Most Supplementary Valuations are requested by the relevant Council following lodgement of development applications.
  • The valuations assessed by the Valuer are based on the Level of Values Date for the municipality.  This means that the valuer determines what the value would have been, if the change was in place on the Levels of Value Date.   This approach provides a consistent basis for rates and taxes across a municipality.
  • Notices of Valuation are issued following the Supplementary Valuation.

About the Fresh Valuation (Revaluation) cycle

The current revaluation schedule is a six-year cycle, with one-third of municipalities being revalued every two years.  Valuations are effective from 1 July in the year of issue. 

A high resolution PDF map showing the Revaluation Program is available below.

Municipal Revaluation Map (1.75 MB)

See the Owner's Guide - Fresh Valuations (Revaluations) (PDF) for an explanation of the revaluation process.

Revaluation Schedule

This table shows the date of the last revaluation for each council.  Property owners can also review valuation details for their property via the LIST website at

​Levels of Value Date Year of Issue​ ​Next Fresh Valuation Due
​Break O'Day1 July 2012​20132018/19
​Brighton1 July 2012​20132018/19
​Burnie1 July 2012​​20132018/19
​Central Coast1 July 2012​2013​2018/19
​Central Highlands1 July 201420152020/21
​Circular Head1 July 2012​​20132018/19
​Clarence1 July 2012​​20132018/19
​Derwent Valley​1 July 2016​20172022/23
​Devonport1 July 20142015​2020/21
​Dorset1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​Flinders1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​George Town​1 July 2012​​20132018/19
​Glamorgan-Spring Bay​1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​Glenorchy​1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​Hobart​1 July 2014​20152020/21
​Huon Valley​1 July 201420152020/21
​Kentish​1 July 2014​20152020/21
​Kingborough​1 July 2014​20152020/21
King Island​1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​Latrobe​1 July 2014​20152020/21
​Launceston​1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​Meander Valley​1 July 2012​2013​2018/19
​Northern Midlands​1 July 2012​​20132018/19
​Sorell​1 July 201620172022/23
​Southern Midlands​1 July 2014​20152020/21
​Tasman​1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​Waratah-Wynyard​1 July 2016​​20172022/23
​West Coast​1 July 2014​20152020/21
​West Tamar​1 July 2012​​20132018/19

2016/17 Revaluation

The list below shows the municipalities being revalued with a 'level of value' date as at 1 July 2016.  Notices of Valuation were issued in May 2017.   The objection period closed in August 2017.

Municipality Valuation Contractor Objection Period Closed on:
Derwent ValleyLG Valuation Services Pty Ltd7 August 2017
DorsetLG Valuation Services Pty Ltd7 August 2017
FlindersLG Valuation Services Pty Ltd7 August 2017
Glamorgan Spring-BayLG Valuation Services Pty Ltd7 August 2017
GlenorchyValueIt Pty Ltd16 August 2017
King IslandValueIt Pty Ltd9 August 2017
LauncestonLG Valuation Services Pty Ltd14 August 2017
SorellValueIt Pty Ltd9 August 2017
TasmanValueIt Pty Ltd9 August 2017
​Waratah Wynyard​ValueIt Pty Ltd​9 August 2017


2018/19 Revaluation

Work will commence shortly on fresh valuations for the Municipal Areas of Break O’Day, Brighton, Burnie, Central Coast, Circular Head, Clarence, George Town, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands and West Tamar.  

Their new Levels of Value Date will be 1 July 2018 and Notices of Valuation will be issued in late May 2019.  The valuations will become effective for rating and taxing purposes on 1 July 2019.



OVG Enquiries
Phone: 03 6165 4444